To reach Worm’s Head one first has to cross rocks which are exposed only for about 2.5 hours before and after low tide.  Walkers should, therefore, always check the tide times before crossing.  Notices providing this information are provided at the Rhossili National Trust Visitor Centre and Shop, on the front of the NCI lookout and near the lifebuoy on the south eastern end of Worm’s Head.

NEVER ATTEMPT TO CROSS UNLESS THERE IS SUFFICIENT TIME TO RETURN TO THE MAINLAND.  WHEN THE CROSSING IS FLOODED, THE TIDAL CURRENTS ARE EXTREMELY DANGEROUS AND EVEN POWERFUL SWIMMERS HAVE DROWNED.

Click here to check for the times of low tides

Times are given in UTC  (UTC is the same as GMT).  Add 1 hour for BST.  Although it is possible to cross over to the Worm for 2.5 hours either side of low tide, please note that tidal predictions are just that: predictions.  Due to conditions such as the weather, the flooding time of the crossing can vary by as much as 30 minutes.

EXAMPLE:



On Saturday 10th. May 2008 low tide is predicted to be at 15:39 hours UTC (16:39 hours BST).

It is therefore safe to cross between the hours of:
13:09 and 18:09 UTC (14:09 and 19:09 BST)

IF YOU ARE UNCERTAIN ABOUT THE TIMES PLEASE ASK AT THE LOOKOUT.

UK tide tables can be purchased online at Tide Tables